• After more than 150 days, Panasonic Jaguar Racing heads to Berlin Tempelhof, Germany for the final six races of season six of ABB FIA Formula E
  • The pacesetting Jaguar I-TYPE 4 will line up for six races in an incredible nine days on three different track layouts for the most intense finale in motorsport history
  • Mitch Evans sits second in the ABB FIA Formula E drivers’ championship
  • Panasonic Jaguar Racing is third in the ABB FIA Formula E teams’ championship
  • Tom Blomqvist announced as the reserve driver for Panasonic Jaguar Racing
  • All qualifying sessions and races to be broadcast live on SuperSport in South Africa
Pretoria, 4 August 2020 – After 158 days, Panasonic Jaguar Racing will head to Germany to complete season six of Formula E in a unique lockdown showdown. Berlin’s Tempelhof circuit will witness six races in nine days with three different track layouts.

Sitting second in the drivers’ championship, Mitch Evans, and teammate James Calado will look to push for more points, podiums and wins during the ABB FIA Formula E Berlin E-Prix with the pacesetting Jaguar I-TYPE 4.

Tom Blomqvist is confirmed as the reserve driver for the remaining six races of the season, replacing Alex Lynn who will drive for Mahindra. The British-Swedish driver previously drove for the Andretti Formula E team in 2018.

James Barclay, Panasonic Jaguar Racing Team Director, said:
“We’re going into the final six races in Berlin in a great position. Whilst it’s going to be an intense challenge for all of the team to complete six races in nine days we are looking forward to it and feeling positive that we are ready to give it our all to fight for the drivers title with Mitch and achieve our best result to date in the team standings." 

“At Panasonic Jaguar Racing our season six objective was to compete for more points, podiums and wins and so far, we’ve done just that. It’s been a long break in the season, but we are hungry to pick up where we left off and finish the season successfully. The whole team has been working incredibly hard during lockdown to ensure that we maintain our positive momentum. We never underestimate the quality of our competition in Formula E though and the challenge that the team and the drivers will face in Berlin but we are fully prepared and ready to give it our all. It’s ultimately within reach so we will be doing our all to achieve our goals together.”

Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing Driver #20, said:
“This season we’ve tasted success and I am really proud of my performance, particularly in the last three races. We achieved Super Pole and a Podium in Santiago, we won in Mexico City and we made history in Marrakesh by gaining 18 places and finishing P6 after starting from the back of the grid. Being second in the drivers’ championship puts me in a good position heading into Berlin but I know I can’t underestimate the challenge that we have ahead. Our Jaguar I-TYPE 4 is incredibly quick so I’m hoping to show everyone that we can be in the fight by 13 August.”

James Calado, Panasonic Jaguar Racing Driver #51, said: “I’m looking forward to getting back into the Jaguar I-TYPE 4 at the Tempelhof circuit. I started in P10 in Marrakesh and felt like I had made some solid progress. I want to give my best performance in Berlin. My role is to support Mitch and the team and secure as many points as possible. I’m sure it will come with its challenges and this break has definitely added the pressure but I’m ready for the lights to go green and finish the season on a high.”

The final six rounds of the 2019/20 ABB FIA Formula E Championship will be screened live and repeated on SuperSport for the first time ever courtesy of Jaguar South Africa and its partnership with Cape Town Formula E Bid Company, e-Movement. SuperSport will also air Championship Highlights episodes, special Formula E features as well as some of the season’s past rounds from around the world.

ABB FIA Formula E season finale live broadcast schedule:
Round 6 Qualifying - 2pm, 5 August - SuperSport 6
Round 6 Race - 6pm, 5 August - SuperSport 6
Round 7 Qualifying - 2pm, 6 August - SuperSport 6
Round 7 Race - 6.30pm, 6 August - SuperSport 6
Round 8 Qualifying - 2pm, 8 August - SuperSport 12
Round 8 Race - 6.30pm, 8 August - SuperSport 6
Round 9 Qualifying - 2pm, 9 August - SuperSport 8
Round 9 Race - 6.30pm, 9 August - SuperSport 6
Round 10 Qualifying - 2pm, 12 August - SuperSport 6
Round 10 Race - 6.30pm, 12 August - SuperSport 6
Round 11 Qualifying - 2pm, 13 August - SuperSport 6
Round 11 Race - 6.30pm, 13 August - SuperSport 6